Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-07-30 17:33:40, last edited by Minisaurus (2020-07-31 00:24:49)

Minisaurus
Member
From: Under your bed
Joined: 2015-02-26
Posts: 670

EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

EE can´t handle complex EE worlds that exceed the maximum amount of data allowed (idk how much information a world can´t handle specifically) (It was because something related to player.io? not sure what is the root of the limitation)

Also, as far as I know there is a problem with having worlds bigger than 300x300, would EE offline be able to solve this? (Having a bigger world is not the problem, but the fact that you can´t save after certain amount of blocks has been placed in the map)

Will EE offline be able to handle all the space needed for 300x300 (or 400x200) worlds?
Will EE offline allow bigger world size?

I ask all of this because I was making with a friend a world called "The Grand Grimoire", and we could not continue the project because of the data limitations
https://forums.everybodyedits.com/viewt … p?id=42395
The project needs a map bigger than 300x300, but I guess that if 300x300 can´t handle it, neither will a bigger world

It is very frustrating how a game can´t even handle its own features


3hEn3Lh.png
Note for EE Staff: I allow the introduction of any of my worlds for any official campaign.

Offline

Wooted by:

#2 2020-07-30 17:46:12, last edited by Trytu (2020-07-30 17:48:31)

Trytu
Member
From: Poland
Joined: 2017-12-10
Posts: 816

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

World portals can be used to break somewhat this limit.
Unfortunately they cannot be used in all cases, but for parkour it could fit (if used wisely).

It would be dumb if EEO wouldn't be able to break these nonsense limits.


4puJMaQ.png
Thanks to Nikko99 for signature
https: //media.discordapp.net/attachments/402174325349941249/482121641745186816/KHiX2DEFewAAAABJRU5ErkJggg.png
https: //i.imgur.com/YFtzyXA.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#3 2020-07-30 17:51:40, last edited by Minisaurus (2020-07-30 17:59:36)

Minisaurus
Member
From: Under your bed
Joined: 2015-02-26
Posts: 670

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

You are right it helps in certain situations, when there is not much complexity in switch systems
But there are like thousand of combinations that I would need to make for a "loading screen" that might even use more space in the map than doing it without red portals in the case of "The Grand Grimoire" world
The red portal "limit break" trick is inefficient in this case and might be inefficient for all the most complex maps around EE that uses very complex switch systems based on player´s progress & decisions taken while in the gameplay

EEO for the moment looks like a completely abandoned project, I hope is not the case
It looks that it will be the most limited emulator ever created


3hEn3Lh.png
Note for EE Staff: I allow the introduction of any of my worlds for any official campaign.

Offline

#4 2020-07-30 17:58:40

Trytu
Member
From: Poland
Joined: 2017-12-10
Posts: 816

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

Minisaurus wrote:

You are right it helps in certain situations
But there are like thousand of combinations that I would need to make for a "loading screen" that might even use more space in the map than doing it without red portals in the case of "The Grand Grimoire" world
The red portal "limit break" trick is inefficient in this case and might be inefficient for all the most complex maps around EE that uses 300x300 whole area to work

Like I said they cannot be used in all cases (and unfortunately they cannot be used in most cases).


4puJMaQ.png
Thanks to Nikko99 for signature
https: //media.discordapp.net/attachments/402174325349941249/482121641745186816/KHiX2DEFewAAAABJRU5ErkJggg.png
https: //i.imgur.com/YFtzyXA.png

Offline

#5 2020-07-30 18:22:10

HG
Member
Joined: 2017-08-16
Posts: 2,249

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

The size limit for world data is only enforced by PlayerIO. Locally there shouldn't be any trouble with saving a world of any size and any amount of blocks with arguments.

Though I think the .eelvl file is binary data, so a tool might have to be written to create empty levels of any size which can be worked with after, if this isn't allowed in the client.


...

Offline

Wooted by: (4)

#6 2020-07-30 23:25:02

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,804

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

HG wrote:

The size limit for world data is only enforced by PlayerIO. Locally there shouldn't be any trouble with saving a world of any size and any amount of blocks with arguments.

Though I think the .eelvl file is binary data, so a tool might have to be written to create empty levels of any size which can be worked with after, if this isn't allowed in the client.

Just stopping in to spitball. I haven't been around for a while, but back in my day, that wasn't true. PlayerIO would generate the serialized data, but it would either be too delayed or too complex and the client would just hang and quit.

Connecting by the alternative route (bot) found greater success in joining the same worlds that the client couldn't handle.

Minisaurus wrote:

EE can´t handle complex EE worlds that exceed the maximum amount of data allowed (idk how much information a world can´t handle specifically) (It was because something related to player.io? not sure what is the root of the limitation)

That said, I also want to point out that often it's not so simple as blaming the world size. Because of how information is stored (and loaded, whatnot), you can have 500x500 worlds that load better than 400x200 ones. If you fill the world full of random nonsense like switches and portals, you're contributing much faster to bloat than if you just used plain blocks.

tl;dr: back in my day, if my experience is still applicable, the problem is not how you think it is. Size is only indirectly related to maxing out the EE server, and I don't think PlayerIO is a valid scapegoat.

Offline

Wooted by: (2)

#7 2020-07-30 23:33:48

HG
Member
Joined: 2017-08-16
Posts: 2,249

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

hummerz5 wrote:

Just stopping in to spitball. I haven't been around for a while, but back in my day, that wasn't true. PlayerIO would generate the serialized data, but it would either be too delayed or too complex and the client would just hang and quit.

Connecting by the alternative route (bot) found greater success in joining the same worlds that the client couldn't handle.

Well, I've not been aware of big worlds being problematic to load. I only know of the problem with attempting to save such world.


...

Offline

#8 2020-07-30 23:46:10

Crybaby
Formerly minimania
From: Cant Count
Joined: 2015-02-22
Posts: 5,626

Re: EE can´t even handle 300x300 world data (What about EE offline?)

Problem has been fixed. EE now no longer loads at all. Thank you for reporting this issue.


unknown.png
Click to see my graphics. Now.

Offline

Crybaby1596149170783638

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1597028866.4751 - Generated in 0.046 seconds, 13 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.44 MiB (Peak: 1.6 MiB) ]