Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-06-10 00:50:48

estebanfer
Member
Joined: 2017-07-06
Posts: 2

Campaigns errors

Campaigns images don't load and also the rewards don't load.
I completed one campaign recently and the campaign now is incomplete, all the tiers. (Altered Reality)
When I select to go to the next tier it takes me to the campaign menu.
All errors I said are in Kongregate. in my EE account everything works fine.
EE.png
EE1.png

Offline

#2 2020-06-11 13:45:46

Snowester
Member
From: Mars
Joined: 2017-05-31
Posts: 490

Re: Campaigns errors

Campaigns images / reward images don't load because of how unwilling Xeno is to plop a crossdomain.xml into their domain for the images to work.
It's something to do with flash's crossdomain policy.


1565540400.png

Offline

#3 2020-06-11 14:52:50

John
EE Staff
Joined: 2019-01-11
Posts: 1,850

Re: Campaigns errors

Oh interesting, when did this start happening? I wonder if it was when we moved to GitLab hosting.


PW?scale=2

Offline

#4 2020-06-11 16:34:41, last edited by Snowester (2020-06-11 16:53:08)

Snowester
Member
From: Mars
Joined: 2017-05-31
Posts: 490

Re: Campaigns errors

John wrote:

Oh interesting, when did this start happening? I wonder if it was when we moved to GitLab hosting.

Okay, I think I'm a bit wrong, don't know about that but anyways, so it seems that EE does have crossdomain.xml, however there are few limitations that need to be solved.
I'm not a bit expert on this and also me and seb did experimenting with crossdomain xml, one way we found that work is that by putting a crossdomain.xml like this on the root of domain and you're probably set, I got a bit suspicious when I was suggested to do this but obviously this is just for flash so I doubt that would mean anything else to me. How I tested out was using a proxy and a custom crossdomain so I could load images and it will work:

Image of loaded campaign

tldr cos yes, you plop this crossdomain.xml into the heart of the domain: https://everybodyedits.com/crossdomain.xml <- You replace this site xml with the other xml.

Also there's another alternative way which I think is probably a bit more controlled if you want them localised in subfolders but idk.


1565540400.png

Offline

#5 2020-06-11 17:37:02

ByteArray
Dev Team (Formerly TechnoWolf99)
From: United States
Joined: 2015-02-17
Posts: 155

Re: Campaigns errors

Been attempting to get this working this morning, tried about a dozen different configurations (including the one Snowster sent which looks like PlayerIO's) but so far I'm not getting the images to load on Kongregate. I'm guessing there's either a setting somewhere or something that needs done in the clientside code, going to try looking into that more soon.

Offline

Wooted by: (2)

#6 2020-06-11 18:25:07

LukeM
Member
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 2,941
Website

Re: Campaigns errors

(Reminder to be super careful about changing these sorts of things, Flash isn't a very secure platform and PlayerIO doesn't provide a secure 'remember me' service, so make sure you understand all the implications of any change before you make them or passwords could be at risk)

Offline

Wooted by: (4)
LukeM1591896307782602

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1594208737.3998 - Generated in 0.020 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.34 MiB (Peak: 1.45 MiB) ]