Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

Advertisement

Hello, visitor! These forums are run off of the revenue generated from these ads. If you'd like to support us, please whitelist us or consider donating:

#1 2018-10-08 08:14:06

cpcrabs
Member
Joined: 2015-10-18
Posts: 132

Running a bot 24/7

I need to run a bot 24/7 in an EE world, without leaving my computer running forever.

Would a VPS work? If so then I can start there. Or maybe there is another solution I'm missing?

Any advice would be very appreciated //forums.everybodyedits.com/img/smilies/smile


Help us fix campaign progress resets

<oOo>
    /|\     BWRRRRRRRVVVV
/   |    \

Offline

Wooted by:

#2 2018-10-08 08:52:20

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 975

Re: Running a bot 24/7

A VPS is exactly what you'll need!

Do you already have a VPS or a plan for which one to use?
Or would you like to tips with that too?


Current project: Thinking of/finding/requesting projects...
?type=registered&name=den3107     ?type=itemsbought&name=den3107
user.php?id=den3107&hideoffline=true    user.php?id=den3107bot&hideoffline=true

Offline

#3 2018-10-08 09:43:41

cpcrabs
Member
Joined: 2015-10-18
Posts: 132

Re: Running a bot 24/7

den3107 wrote:

A VPS is exactly what you'll need!

Do you already have a VPS or a plan for which one to use?
Or would you like to tips with that too?

Thanks for the reply //forums.everybodyedits.com/img/smilies/big_smile

I don't have any VPS yet and I'm not sure which I should get. DigitalOcean is very recommended but it looks like it costs money. Microsoft's Azure looks more promising but I'm still checking it out.
I also don't mind paying $2-6 per month if the quality is good enough.

I've seen Heroku suggested on Reddit before too.

I'm really out of my depth here, so I really appreciate any suggestions or recommendations.


Help us fix campaign progress resets

<oOo>
    /|\     BWRRRRRRRVVVV
/   |    \

Offline

Wooted by:

#4 2018-10-08 23:13:23

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 975

Re: Running a bot 24/7

I personally would really recommend DigitalOcean too. Although it's kinda overkill for something as simpel as an EE bot. (would cost €5 per month, btw)
Heroku can host your bot for free, but it has to be made in either Node.js (Javascript), Ruby, Java, PHP, Python, Go, Scala or Clojure. (obviously the logical choice here would be Node.js).

Something I would like to note about Heroku: In order to be able to run it 24/7 you will have to supply a credit card (no charges will be made). If you don't supply a credit card you can only run it so many hours per month.


Current project: Thinking of/finding/requesting projects...
?type=registered&name=den3107     ?type=itemsbought&name=den3107
user.php?id=den3107&hideoffline=true    user.php?id=den3107bot&hideoffline=true

Offline

#5 2018-10-09 13:25:12

mrjawapa
Banned
From: Ohio, USA
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 4,576
Website

Re: Running a bot 24/7

den3107 wrote:

you will have to supply a credit card (no charges will be made). If you don't supply a credit card you can only run it so many hours per month

Sounds sketch

Offline

#6 2018-10-09 16:22:07

hummerz5
Forum Admin
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,797

Re: Running a bot 24/7

^Indeed, but usually pricing setups like that are made with the idea that the credit card is there in case the user goes over some limit. If we assume that the bot is not taxing on memory or other resources that the service would consider pricey, there's not much reason to worry about having that system.

So if I am correct in saying "you will have to supply a credit card (no charges will be made because running a bot is a cheap task)" then it seems less sketchy.

Offline

Wooted by:

#7 2018-10-09 18:53:37

Zumza
Member
From: root
Joined: 2015-02-17
Posts: 4,268

Re: Running a bot 24/7

den3107 wrote:

I personally would really recommend DigitalOcean too.

Just a quick note, chose Vultr over DigitalOcean. Same price, better performance.


Everybody edits, but some edit more than others

Thanks SwordofBlue

Offline

#8 2018-10-09 22:55:38

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 975

Re: Running a bot 24/7

Zumza wrote:
den3107 wrote:

I personally would really recommend DigitalOcean too.

Just a quick note, chose Vultr over DigitalOcean. Same price, better performance.

Never had any performance issues with Digital Ocean myself. Haven't heard from Vultr before, but looks pretty neat. Also has smaller packages which would be ideal for running just a bot.
For more advances features I don't seem to be able to find if Vultr has loadbalancers (which I personally have found to be very essential when writing corporate code big and small.


Current project: Thinking of/finding/requesting projects...
?type=registered&name=den3107     ?type=itemsbought&name=den3107
user.php?id=den3107&hideoffline=true    user.php?id=den3107bot&hideoffline=true

Offline

#9 2018-10-14 03:57:07

1448
Formerly alkazam1448
From: Numberland
Joined: 2015-04-12
Posts: 680
Website

Re: Running a bot 24/7

Have you tried OpenShift? It's free (node.js, Ruby, python). If you're using C# you can make it a console app, you can just upload the EXE and run it as a child_process.

Offline

#10 2018-10-16 17:32:36

RageQuits
Member
From: Belgium (Dutch)
Joined: 2018-08-26
Posts: 29
Website

Re: Running a bot 24/7

I just stick to using my Raspberry PI 3 model B+. No monthly fees, etc.

Offline

#11 2018-10-16 17:35:20

LukeM
Dev Team
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 2,435
Website

Re: Running a bot 24/7

RageQuits wrote:

I just stick to using my Raspberry PI 3 model B+. No monthly fees, etc.

(note: There will be fees for the person paying for internet / electricity)

Offline

Wooted by:

HG

#12 2018-10-16 21:28:20

soniiiety
Member
From: newzealand
Joined: 2016-02-10
Posts: 1,476

Re: Running a bot 24/7

cpcrabs wrote:

I need to run a bot 24/7 in an EE world, without leaving my computer running forever.

Would a VPS work? If so then I can start there. Or maybe there is another solution I'm missing?

Any advice would be very appreciated //forums.everybodyedits.com/img/smilies/smile

actually I got a better idea what you should use.

https://www.tinytask.net/

tiny task is free and can record keys and mouse and anything you want to record.

have I look, I use it.


KbsIpxI.gif.3d37e376289d9a9_flip.png.

Offline

#13 2018-10-16 22:54:15

MartenM
Member
From: The Netherlands
Joined: 2016-03-31
Posts: 809
Website

Re: Running a bot 24/7

LukeM wrote:
RageQuits wrote:

I just stick to using my Raspberry PI 3 model B+. No monthly fees, etc.

(note: There will be fees for the person paying for internet / electricity)

Internet is being paid for anyway and the electricity the thing takes is not noticeable on the monthly bill.


lm3hgg8.jpg

Ingame: marten22        My steam: MartenM

Offline

#14 2018-10-17 01:24:41

LukeM
Dev Team
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 2,435
Website

Re: Running a bot 24/7

MartenM wrote:
LukeM wrote:
RageQuits wrote:

I just stick to using my Raspberry PI 3 model B+. No monthly fees, etc.

(note: There will be fees for the person paying for internet / electricity)

Internet is being paid for anyway and the electricity the thing takes is not noticeable on the monthly bill.

Unless you're paying for much more bandwidth than you use (or have some sort of priority system) you're still using up a limited resource that you have to pay for, so you can't just say you're paying for it anyway... And not sure exactly how much it was, but I'm pretty sure I worked out that the amount you'd pay to run a raspberry pi constantly would be in the order of pounds per month, so although it wouldn't be noticible compared to all the rest of the electricity you're using, it would be noticeable on its own.

Offline

LukeM1539735881728303

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1540205797.7845 - Generated in 0.043 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.41 MiB (Peak: 1.6 MiB) ]