Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

Advertisement

Hello, visitor! These forums are run off of the revenue generated from these ads. If you'd like to support us, please whitelist us or consider donating:

#401 2017-09-02 19:52:46

HG
Member
From: The Tower 8
Joined: 2017-08-16
Posts: 1,495

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

PiotrGrochowski wrote:

Only Linux can execute source codes. Windows needs .exe files.

Source code isn't executed. It is "compiled" as executable files (a.k.a. .exe on Windows).

I would like you to learn the basics of programming before entering a complex topic such as this one.

Last edited by HG (2017-09-02 19:57:20)

Offline

Wooted by:

#402 2017-09-03 00:07:48

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 898

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

PiotrGrochowski wrote:

Only Linux can execute source codes. Windows needs .exe files.

Kinda correct.
Not going into it in full detail, just giving you rough guidelines. I suggest you either Google some (generally faster) or open up a new thread (generally slower and potentially hostile) for more detailed information if you can't perform it like it's mentioned here.

You can put source code in a program called an "IDE", like "Visual Studio" (just see it as an over glorified text editor for simplicity's sake). This step is basically as simple as dragging and dropping the source code (plain text files) into the earlier mentioned IDE.

Once that's done, you can make changes to said source code.
Once finished you technically have 2 ways of running it:

  • Compile it and get a bunch of files spit out, one of those files being a .exe (mind you: the .exe will require the other generated files in order to function).

  • Run it from withing the IDE (Essentially the program (IDE) will perform option 1 for you and automatically run the program).

Now again:
One reason you might be confused with the idea that source code can only be executed in Linux, is because of languages like Python.
Python is a so called "interpreted language", meaning it doesn't need to be compiled like C# code has to be.
In order to then run it, you would generally have to use a terminal (Linux and OSX)/command prompt (Windows) and perform commands on that terminal/command prompt. As you can see, there's something for Linux, but ALSO one for Windows. And in most simple cases like this it's safe to assume that what's possible for development in Linux, is also possible in Windows.

as HG mentioned, stuff like git, editing code and getting it to run is way more complex than you think, mostly in an application like this, and I suggest you to do some C# tutorial before venturing further.
With that I would suggest we close the kinda off-topic discussion about source code and what not and step back onto the topic at hand: EEditor, and not give tutorials on how to update/change it (sorry about that).


Current project: Thinking of/finding/requesting projects...
?type=registered&name=den3107     ?type=itemsbought&name=den3107
user.php?id=den3107&hideoffline=true    user.php?id=den3107bot&hideoffline=true

Offline

Wooted by:

#403 2017-09-04 14:30:39

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Thanks for the support about source code. I hope the user understand this now.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

Wooted by:

HG

#404 2017-09-16 21:41:15

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Updated EEditor with bugfixes and some English grammar and code fixing by Atilla.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

#405 2017-10-10 21:10:48

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

EEditor 3.7.0 is now released. Now it works for contest worlds too.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

#406 2017-10-11 05:34:31

Xfrogman43
Member
From: need to find a new home
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 3,534

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

capasha wrote:

EEditor 3.7.0 is now released. Now it works for contest worlds too.

nmzTOO6.png


zsbu6Xm.png thanks zoey

Offline

Wooted by:

#407 2017-10-11 10:49:07

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Xfrogman43 wrote:
capasha wrote:

EEditor 3.7.0 is now released. Now it works for contest worlds too.

https://i.imgur.com/nmzTOO6.png

If he only have talked with me this wouldn't have happened.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

#408 2017-10-11 19:57:55

Emalton
Member
From: USA ̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍̍
Joined: 2015-06-16
Posts: 1,107

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

who cares if it supports contest worlds or not?


U08r7YL.png
?type=location&name=Emalton
Old signature by Zoey2070, Older signature by Amds
Thanks Latif for the avatar and Amds Zoey2070 Anatoly for the signature!

Offline

Wooted by:

HG

#409 2017-10-11 20:18:55

Xfrogman43
Member
From: need to find a new home
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 3,534

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

capasha wrote:
Xfrogman43 wrote:
capasha wrote:

EEditor 3.7.0 is now released. Now it works for contest worlds too.

https://i.imgur.com/nmzTOO6.png

If he only have talked with me this wouldn't have happened.

Just thought it was a funny coincidence

Emalton wrote:

who cares if it supports contest worlds or not?

JSpRoRv.png

Last edited by Xfrogman43 (2017-10-11 20:19:20)


zsbu6Xm.png thanks zoey

Offline

#410 2017-10-12 07:39:32

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Xfrogman43 wrote:

JSpRoRv.png

This is what some of the people asked me for. To move around things.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#411 2017-10-15 19:43:38

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

EEditor is going to be recoded a bit. This means that EEditor source-code and stable version is going to stay on 3.7 a longer time.
EEditor 3.8 is going to be coded and updated on a private Bitbucket repository. This also mean that I don't need to make mistakes which would be bad for old EEditor.

The recode is needed. Right now does EEditor handle blocks in a hardcoded way which takes a lot of work just to do. We and I want to add blocks in an easier way.
With this way of recode I no longer need to store block ids hardcoded. Anyone, I mean Anyone can add new blocks for EEditor 3.8.

I hope everyone can understand this. Since EEditor still add new unknown blocks. I don't see any panic in adding new ones.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#412 2017-10-29 19:19:56

shadowda
Member
From: somewhere probably.
Joined: 2015-02-19
Posts: 918

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Is it possible to find and replace a switch of a specific id with a portal of a specific id and target?


Hello everyone! its your friendly neighborhood Shadowda (man). color = #1E1E1E       

latest?cb=20150604065609

Offline

#413 2017-11-06 13:37:41

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

shadowda wrote:

Is it possible to find and replace a switch of a specific id with a portal of a specific id and target?

Not right now. But could be a feature in the newest EEditor.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

#414 2017-11-06 23:27:50

soniiiety
Member
From: newzealand
Joined: 2016-02-10
Posts: 667

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

thank you for the update capasha also cool bot i give it 9 out of 10 stars when i am useing it.


wleLI8Z.gif.3d37e376289d9a9_flip.png.

Offline

Wooted by:

#415 2017-11-07 15:54:47

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

soniiiety wrote:

thank you for the update capasha also cool bot i give it 9 out of 10 stars when i am useing it.

How come you only vote it 9/10? Is there something that I did wrong or what?


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#416 2017-11-11 08:32:26

PiotrGrochowski
Member
From: Poland (born in 8 №v 2004)
Joined: 2016-04-27
Posts: 67

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Why did you update EEditor when you said you won't update it?


I'm known as haslo in EE.

Offline

#417 2017-11-11 10:19:47

Latif
Member
From: The Netherlands
Joined: 2015-03-13
Posts: 770

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

PiotrGrochowski wrote:

Why did you update EEditor when you said you won't update it?

sshhhhhhhhh it's better like this


WOfmClS.png
No I'm not lazy, I'm just highly motivated to do nothing.

I maek avatars 4 peeple if u liek u caen ask here 4 1 (it's kind of dead)

Offline

#418 2017-11-11 13:11:31

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

PiotrGrochowski wrote:

Why did you update EEditor when you said you won't update it?

I didn't update it? 3.7.0 is the latest.

The reason of the update was because a bug that came after the working versions.
Also there is a reason I have been updating it. Was that Atilla fixed the code and also added his world database.

Last edited by capasha (2017-11-11 13:17:05)


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#419 2017-11-12 00:41:33

Xfrogman43
Member
From: need to find a new home
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 3,534

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Not sure if this has been asked before but can you make spikes start in the up position?


zsbu6Xm.png thanks zoey

Offline

Wooted by:

#420 2017-11-12 02:09:15

BasicNet
Member
From: .Net Framework
Joined: 2017-10-22
Posts: 41

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

bot give me a tons of help. Worlds building is funny and easy.

Offline

#421 2017-11-18 22:50:24

Electric Programer
New Member
From: Underground
Joined: 2017-09-24
Posts: 4

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

I can't load or upload my worlds in EE. It gives me an error when I upload saying 'EEME', the name of my 1st crew slot. When I try to upload, It does nothing. I even tried reinstalling, nothing works. sad


Your Gonna Have An Edit Time.

Offline

#422 2017-11-18 22:54:54

Xfrogman43
Member
From: need to find a new home
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 3,534

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

can you give screenshots?


zsbu6Xm.png thanks zoey

Offline

#423 2017-11-20 18:45:02

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

Electric Programer wrote:

I can't load or upload my worlds in EE. It gives me an error when I upload saying 'EEME', the name of my 1st crew slot. When I try to upload, It does nothing. I even tried reinstalling, nothing works. sad

Maybe because you use the name of the world instead of the roomid.
RoomId starts with: PW, OW, BW


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

#424 2017-11-30 23:11:47

capasha
Member
Joined: 2015-02-21
Posts: 3,381

Re: [Release] EEditor 3.7.0 - Offline Editor

I have stopped working on this project. I don't see a reason to work on it since EE is dead.


1XlHVLW.png

Offline

capasha1512079907684786

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1513305971.1014 - Generated in 0.119 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.46 MiB (Peak: 1.69 MiB) ]