Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

Advertisement

Hello, visitor! These forums are run off of the revenue generated from these ads. If you'd like to support us, please whitelist us or consider donating:

#1 2016-12-30 21:59:49

Walruspal
Member
From: walrussia
Joined: 2015-02-28
Posts: 60

World search

Why cant we search for offline worlds using the world name?
And why is there no minimap button on our own worlds in the lobby?

Offline

#2 2016-12-30 22:59:29

Kaleb
Formerly Kaleb123
From: Cali Baby | 2017 popin
Joined: 2015-02-19
Posts: 1,148

Re: World search

Do you really wanna know why?


Well here is your answer:

answer

Last edited by Kaleb (2016-12-30 23:00:09)

Offline

#3 2016-12-30 23:12:19

Walruspal
Member
From: walrussia
Joined: 2015-02-28
Posts: 60

Re: World search

You dint understand my question...

Offline

#4 2016-12-30 23:36:06

Slabdrill
Formerly 12345678908642
From: canada
Joined: 2015-08-15
Posts: 2,005
Website

Re: World search

first one: searching through the entire database would take too long.
second one: idk why dont you post it in game suggestions


I didn't like the big picture. Guess we're back to text.

Offline

Wooted by:

#5 2016-12-31 00:20:58

Krosis
Formerly Arkonagames
Joined: 2015-06-17
Posts: 2,267
Website

Re: World search

12345678908642 wrote:

first one: searching through the entire database would take too long.
second one: idk why dont you post it in game suggestions

http://forums.everybodyedits.com/viewtopic.php?id=32610


Krosis.gif

Offline

#6 2016-12-31 07:01:30

AnatolyEE
Banned
From: Unknown location
Joined: 2015-07-31
Posts: 3,080
Website

Re: World search

hummer5 don't open. Minimoding here

On topic: Only 50 worlds are online. But 100,000 Worlds (statistic might change) exist. So when loading 50 Worlds, takes one Minute, loading all would take ~15. As of 'mine' Worlds not showing minimap, that's a bug.

Last edited by AnatolyEE (2016-12-31 07:04:06)

Offline

#7 2016-12-31 07:28:18

XxAtillaxX
Member
From: Canada
Joined: 2015-11-28
Posts: 3,481
Website

Re: World search

There's 1,000,000~ worlds, not 100,000.

It's not hard to index and search through that amount in a reasonable time with a proper key-value store.
I've been doing it for a long time however never bothered to publicly release it, as there's very little demand.

You should go ask Processor to publicise one, he'll seemingly re-invent almost any idea now, no matter how stupid.

Offline

Wooted by:

#8 2016-12-31 09:47:53

Kaleb
Formerly Kaleb123
From: Cali Baby | 2017 popin
Joined: 2015-02-19
Posts: 1,148

Re: World search

AnatolyEE wrote:
hummer5 don't open. Minimoding here

On topic: Only 50 worlds are online. But 100,000 Worlds (statistic might change) exist. So when loading 50 Worlds, takes one Minute, loading all would take ~15. As of 'mine' Worlds not showing minimap, that's a bug.

I answered the question intended way or not I answered it.

geez stop getting but hurt about every little mistake bud.

Offline

#9 2016-12-31 18:21:56

Slabdrill
Formerly 12345678908642
From: canada
Joined: 2015-08-15
Posts: 2,005
Website

Re: World search

XxAtillaxX wrote:

There's 1,000,000~ worlds, not 100,000.

It's not hard to index and search through that amount in a reasonable time with a proper key-value store.
I've been doing it for a long time however never bothered to publicly release it, as there's very little demand.

You should go ask Processor to publicise one, he'll seemingly re-invent almost any idea now, no matter how stupid.

wait what you mean it doesnt take 1000x as long to load 1000x more worlds considering profiles take 2-4 minutes to load

Last edited by Slabdrill (2016-12-31 18:22:15)


I didn't like the big picture. Guess we're back to text.

Offline

#10 2017-01-01 00:17:50

XxAtillaxX
Member
From: Canada
Joined: 2015-11-28
Posts: 3,481
Website

Re: World search

12345678908642 wrote:

wait what you mean it doesnt take 1000x as long to load 1000x more worlds considering profiles take 2-4 minutes to load

I have very little knowledge about the architecture of BigDB, however from my experience with MongoDB it's fairly trivial.
I've seen databases with 2 billion documents in a key-value store load by index near instantaneously (approx. 3-10ms).

Offline

#11 2017-01-01 00:59:57

hummerz5
Forum Mod
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 4,987

Re: World search

XxAtillaxX wrote:

I've seen databases with 2 billion documents in a key-value store load by index near instantaneously (approx. 3-10ms).

What do you mean "load by index" and the lot? Does that function as "stairs to code" matching all documents with the substring?


g822aD5.gif
he5EFub.png
thanks zoey!
If anyone tells you that a certain person speaks ill of you, do not make excuses about what is said of you but answer,
"He was ignorant of my other faults, else he would not have mentioned these alone." ― Epictetus
?type=lastlogin&name=hummerz5

Offline

#12 2017-01-01 01:12:03

XxAtillaxX
Member
From: Canada
Joined: 2015-11-28
Posts: 3,481
Website

Re: World search

hummerz5 wrote:
XxAtillaxX wrote:

I've seen databases with 2 billion documents in a key-value store load by index near instantaneously (approx. 3-10ms).

What do you mean "load by index" and the lot? Does that function as "stairs to code" matching all documents with the substring?

Yes.

Offline

XxAtillaxX1483229523641340

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1511074805.4684 - Generated in 0.036 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.27 MiB (Peak: 1.43 MiB) ]