Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-13 14:25:52, last edited by Zumza (2015-10-14 14:32:29)

Zumza
Member
From: root
Joined: 2015-02-17
Posts: 4,663

For

So today I was writing a for statement and by mistake I type something like this:

for(int i = 0; i < n, i++) {//blabla}

Anyways it took me an nanosecond to see that i put ',' instead of ';'. But now I started wondering why for syntax is for(<expr>; <expr>; <expr>) <block> and is not for(<expr>, <expr>, <expr>) <block>
Well of course this might be just a simple language notation but lots of programming language use this syntax although.

So why do you think the creators left it as that?




One possible affirmation is this:

for(
x = 0;
x < 10;
x++
)

Warning!
This user has been found guilty by The Committee of Truth of using honesty, and reminding people of the past, without permission and outside of the allotted timeframes.

I’ve been asked if I’m ChatGPT5.
The answer is no.
I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Everybody edits, but some edit more than others

Offline

#2 2015-10-13 18:50:24

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 1,025

Re: For

Weeeeell... The notation you stated was the notation of calling a method.

I think that says enough.

Offline

#3 2015-10-13 20:36:49

Zumza
Member
From: root
Joined: 2015-02-17
Posts: 4,663

Re: For

den3107 wrote:

Weeeeell... The notation you stated was the notation of calling a method.

I think that says enough.

Did you even read the OP? I pointed that already After all in both cases are parameters for for


Warning!
This user has been found guilty by The Committee of Truth of using honesty, and reminding people of the past, without permission and outside of the allotted timeframes.

I’ve been asked if I’m ChatGPT5.
The answer is no.
I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Everybody edits, but some edit more than others

Offline

#4 2015-10-13 21:29:29

ewoke
Member
Joined: 2015-02-20
Posts: 412

Re: For

Zumza wrote:
den3107 wrote:

Weeeeell... The notation you stated was the notation of calling a method.

I think that says enough.

Did you even read the OP? I pointed that already After all in both cases are parameters for for

i dont think you get it.

void dostuff(int x,int y, int z)

dostuff(4,4,4);

for(i=0,i<7,i++)/////////////looks like a method

for(i=0;i<7;i++;)


if you can read this....good for you

Offline

#5 2015-10-13 21:50:40

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,864

Re: For

Please note, the FOR doesn't look like a function call (like the while and suchnot) because of the space... "for (" as opposed to "Console.WriteLine("

Further, here's how I see it.
If we divide those into three parts,
The first part is compiled/ran once at the beginning. It's the initialization for the loop. it is a line of code
The second part is a condition. If you passed it (as is) to a function, you'd be passing a boolean variable. In this case, however, we treat it as a line of code (because we run it each time)
Naturally, the third part is the first, only it is run each time. Again, it acts as a line because passing i++ would just give a number, not a command.

also, s/o: here

Offline

Wooted by:

#6 2015-10-13 21:52:07, last edited by den3107 (2015-10-13 21:56:12)

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 1,025

Re: For

Zumza wrote:
den3107 wrote:

Weeeeell... The notation you stated was the notation of calling a method.

I think that says enough.

Did you even read the OP? I pointed that already After all in both cases are parameters for for

Just because they're parameters (even though there are very strange parameters (like i++)) doesn't mean it's a method.

If it were to be a method, it would mean it's possible to override that method and change it's behaviour. I did some googling, and personally couldn't find any way to change the behaviour of a for-loop (or any kind of loop/if-statement/etc.) programetically (obviously you could change the language completely, but then you're making your own language which is based off the language you edited).

So again, long story short: a for loop isn't a method, hence they were forced to use a different kind of separation character.

This is a personal observation though, and I have another idea, but I'll share it once anybody shows interest (too lazy). (See EDIT2)

EDIT1:

hummerz5 wrote:

Please note, the FOR doesn't look like a function call (like the while and suchnot) because of the space... "for (" as opposed to "Console.WriteLine("

That's a prefered way of writing, you can write both a "for(" without space, and a "method (" with space (I personally write for( without space due to my Java background).

EDIT2:
Basically what hummerz5 said, though I wouldn't formulated it differently (and am not entirely certain we mean the same thing).

Offline

Wooted by:

#7 2015-10-13 22:08:40

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,864

Re: For

^Same
I was referring to the C# vs2010 ide
but hey you do you

Offline

#8 2015-10-13 22:52:26

Soubr
Member
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 36

Re: For

what's the point of this topic?

Offline

Wooted by:

#9 2015-10-14 01:17:58

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,864

Re: For

Soubr wrote:

what's the point of this topic?

As per the description, "If it can haz cod, put it in here.", it fits.

If you work on precedents, however, it seems certain programming-related discussion has actually been moved to the off-topic category.

But our in-house coders doesn't seem to frequent the coding forums

Offline

#10 2015-10-14 02:23:11

Xfrogman43
Member
From: need to find a new home
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 4,174

Re: For

hummerz5 wrote:

"If it can haz cod, put it in here.", it fits

Not necessarily true. It HAS to be EE related.


zsbu6Xm.png thanks zoey aaaaaaaaaaaand thanks latif for the avatar

Offline

#11 2015-10-14 03:00:15

Different55
Forum Admin
Joined: 2015-02-07
Posts: 16,577

Re: For

Xfrogman43 wrote:
hummerz5 wrote:

"If it can haz cod, put it in here.", it fits

Not necessarily true. It HAS to be EE related.

^this

can has cod is more of a reference to EE nubs asking for the code than an actual description of the subforum. Probably wasn't the smartest thing to put as the description but eh.


"Sometimes failing a leap of faith is better than inching forward"
- ShinsukeIto

Offline

Wooted by:

#12 2015-10-14 14:24:44, last edited by Zumza (2015-10-14 14:30:08)

Zumza
Member
From: root
Joined: 2015-02-17
Posts: 4,663

Re: For

You could thin on for like a method with an outside delegate.

//In an C like pseudocode
void for(<expression1>, <expression2>, <expression3>, <instruction block>) {
       execute(<expresion1>);
       loop: 
            if(!<expresion2>) return;
            execute(<instruction block>);
            execute(<expresion3>);
       goto loop;
}


I think they did it because they've considered the parameters instructions and because every instruction ends with an ";" they decided to do it as that.
And how den3107 also pointed out:

den3107 wrote:

So again, long story short: a for loop isn't a method, hence they were forced to use a different kind of separation character.


Warning!
This user has been found guilty by The Committee of Truth of using honesty, and reminding people of the past, without permission and outside of the allotted timeframes.

I’ve been asked if I’m ChatGPT5.
The answer is no.
I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Everybody edits, but some edit more than others

Offline

Zumza1444829084549441

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1747997279.0957 - Generated in 0.066 seconds, 13 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.62 MiB (Peak: 1.81 MiB) ]