Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

Advertisement

Hello, visitor! These forums are run off of the revenue generated from these ads. If you'd like to support us, please whitelist us or consider donating:

#1 2019-07-11 02:14:15

Trytu
Member
From: Poland
Joined: 2017-12-10
Posts: 580

I cannot save my world

i have a world 300x300 with tons of portals and switches
i tried to put there more switches, (by copying one section of the machine to another place), and save the world
the save was succsefull
then i tried to put in the first place another part of the machine, but it failed, so i segmented it to smaller pieces, and i teleported 60% of it
then even smaller pieces and 80%
then i pointed out that it could have make something with the switches or portals so i erased some of not important machines, and it worked

now when i saved it i pointed out, that there is some switches that i need to change, (change ID's to not duplicate)
and i can't save it
i changed only 3 (purple) switches and i can't save
so maybe it has something to do with Switch ID's
when i put 2 switches instead of 3, and saved , it's was thankfully possible, then i put switch 2 in place of third one, and it was successful, but when i tried to change it to third one, it failed again
after that i tried to erase and put switch again but this time it failed
now i can't save any more switches, idk if my world is just strangely corrupted, i could try to change the world, to make sure it is or isn't in any way broken, if i'll do it, i'll update the post

(failed save is the save that doesn't end (looped save screen animation), and player can move build and chat)
when it failed to save, i was able to try again to save by writtiing /save command
if more details would be needed, or something i can write,  in PM or in the post
problematic world - PW3pwftpaXb0I  if id is needed
screen with problematic switch above me (that empty space)- http://prntscr.com/oddozj


4puJMaQ.png
Thanks to Nikko99 for signature
https: //media.discordapp.net/attachments/402174325349941249/482121641745186816/KHiX2DEFewAAAABJRU5ErkJggg.png
https: //i.imgur.com/YFtzyXA.png

Offline

#2 2019-07-11 05:56:05, last edited by Slabdrill (2019-07-11 05:56:25)

Slabdrill
Formerly 12345678908642
From: canada
Joined: 2015-08-15
Posts: 3,228
Website

Re: I cannot save my world

Non-duplicated blocks is what causes worlds to not save. It occurs when the world's file is too large. To fix it, make as many portals/switches the same (this includes portal rotation and visibility) as possible.


suddenly random sig change

Offline

Wooted by: (2)

#3 2019-07-11 11:27:54, last edited by Trytu (2019-07-11 13:35:00)

Trytu
Member
From: Poland
Joined: 2017-12-10
Posts: 580

Re: I cannot save my world

Slabdrill wrote:

Non-duplicated blocks is what causes worlds to not save. It occurs when the world's file is too large. To fix it, make as many portals/switches the same (this includes portal rotation and visibility) as possible.

it seems logical
- when i erased all gold coin i had (4 of them), i was able to save the world whith new switch
- when i added new types of blocks i wansn't able to do it
so my world have this bug, because of switches and art
i use so many different blocks, that world's file size is raised anormaly, bigger than normal switch world

that's why noone should do world with art, music, story (signs and NPC) and switch machine at one world like me

now, to reperair my world i could just make my arts have less colour pallete, but idk where did i put some of block IDs :C
then i would be able to save some space for switch IDs, but i think it would take too many time :/
hmm... maybe erasing NPC's and some signs would help

EDIT: i erased 20 signs and it worked


4puJMaQ.png
Thanks to Nikko99 for signature
https: //media.discordapp.net/attachments/402174325349941249/482121641745186816/KHiX2DEFewAAAABJRU5ErkJggg.png
https: //i.imgur.com/YFtzyXA.png

Offline

#4 2019-07-11 18:59:12

LukeM
Dev Team
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 2,815
Website

Re: I cannot save my world

Unfortunately this is a limit set by PlayerIO (our hosting provider) so its mostly out of our hands. We'll be using out own servers for EEU though so it shouldn't have this problem.

As for the temporary solution of removing blocks, different blocks take different amounts of data, so in general things like NPCs and signs take the most (as they're storing text), then portals (as they have several properties), then switches, then normal blocks, so if you do want to try to bypass this constraint then you should probably worry about things like signs and portals first.

Offline

LukeM1562867952754742

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1566210805.2115 - Generated in 0.028 seconds, 10 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.28 MiB (Peak: 1.38 MiB) ]