Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-06-04 19:12:26, last edited by MartenM (2016-06-04 20:02:48)

MartenM
Website

Saving data

Hi there guys.

So just a month ago I think I started with making bots. I used tutorials for saving wins etc. Now I'm using the .ini files to save data.

Now here come's my problem. I feel like this is not the best way to save data. It's hard to loop through etc.

What method would you guys recommend for me.
As I'm still learning every day new things in C# something that would be a bit user friendly would be nice //forums.everybodyedits.com/img/smilies/smile

(Btw want to have the data saved on my own pc. Just in case someone comes with a server method.)
It's meant to save user data for my bot games.

lm3hgg8.jpg

Ingame: marten22        My steam: MartenM

#2 2016-06-04 19:28:15

Xfrogman43

Re: Saving data

I used just regular text files.

zsbu6Xm.png thanks zoey aaaaaaaaaaaand thanks latif for the avatar

#3 2016-06-04 19:44:29

capasha

Use XML or text documents or why not, MySQL database.

#4 2016-06-04 19:50:58

hummerz5

^Do you have a suggestion on a tutorial for setting up SQL databases? I had an SQLite database (cuz idk why) and that was a pain... the updates were always the wrong version for the .NET framework... and I updated from NuGet vs. web download ugh all around.

If you want "user friendly," then the easiest thing you can do is a straight-to-textfile approach. Then you can see if your function is outputting right, etc. However, the next best thing would prolly be cap's SQL suggestion. Provided a good UI, all you'd need to figure out is the actual programming quirks involved.

But straight easiest, user-friendly approach is definitely text.