Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-08-13 22:47:30

OINX
Member
From: Germany
Joined: 2015-08-07
Posts: 151

power up works incorrect, why?

The power up, that gives you the ability to jump twice as high, does not really give you a "double jump".
Without the power up you can easily jump over 3 blocks + a bit higher.
with the power up you jump barely over 6 blocks.

If you normally jump 3,25 blocks (just a guess), then with the power up it should be like 6,5 blocks >>
means you should easily jump over 6 blocks and not barely.

ALSO, and this is ultimate proof, that it needs to be fixed, before it ruins levels when admins notice I was right:
Without the power up you can touch a resurrection point, which is 4 blocks OVER your head.
With you power up you should be able to touch the resurrection point
being THREE MORE blocks (= 7 blocks) over your head, since you you can jump over 6 blocks,.... but you CAN'T.

So what's the deal with that? It's totally ruining planned out level designs, where you build a few things twice as high for the upgrade, but your smiley does not jump twice as high with that upgrade.

That resurrection is not the only example.
When you put a water block on a one-way block and the one-way block is too high for a normal jump, then you will still make the jump on that block, because you touch the water, just like you would with the resurrection point. And guess what, the same thing does not work with higher jump, because the water block would not pull you up, when you barely touch it. And all this because the power up does not let you jump twice as high.


(  ° ,(oo)° ) oink oink

Offline

#2 2015-08-13 23:07:38, last edited by hummerz5 (2015-08-13 23:09:04)

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

You called it.

 public function get jumpMultiplier():Number{
            var _local1:Number = 1;
            if (this.jump_boost){
                _local1 = (_local1 * 1.3);
            };
            if (this.zombie){
                _local1 = (_local1 * 0.75);
            };
            return (_local1);
        }

Though, I doubt setting a multiplier of 2 would look truly twice as high.

However, I don't think that it'll be an issue with level design. If you want an accurate test, ask a friend to loan you the brick somewhere.

The source code never really calls it "double jump" or "2x"... all except for the description of the item. Oops.

Offline

#3 2015-08-13 23:52:06

Muftwin
Member
Joined: 2015-02-27
Posts: 535

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

so design the jump to be less than twice is high? where does it claim to be twice as high? afaik (i could be wrong) noone did. theres no reason the height should be different it would mess up worlds people already built with this height.


hNtlhM5.png
ZOEY DOESNT ACCEPT ANYTHING

Offline

Wooted by: (3)

#4 2015-08-14 00:09:56

OINX
Member
From: Germany
Joined: 2015-08-07
Posts: 151

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

Muftwin wrote:

so design the jump to be less than twice is high? where does it claim to be twice as high? afaik (i could be wrong) noone did. theres no reason the height should be different it would mess up worlds people already built with this height.

It says exactly twice as high. How can you not see this? what kind of description do you have in mind?

I quote what it says, when i go with my mouse over the item:
"Jump Effect:
Players jump twice as high"


(  ° ,(oo)° ) oink oink

Offline

#5 2015-08-14 00:22:58

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

Muftwin wrote:

so design the jump to be less than twice is high? where does it claim to be twice as high? afaik (i could be wrong) noone did. theres no reason the height should be different it would mess up worlds people already built with this height.

That's what I thought. I think someone unintentionally was writing up the description without having actually set the value. (?) A slip of the tongue, perhaps.

Offline

Wooted by: (2)

#6 2015-08-14 06:24:35

mrjawapa
Corn Man 🌽
From: Ohio, USA
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 5,840
Website

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

New description:
"Players jump 1.7438 times higher."


Discord: jawp#5123

Offline

#7 2015-08-14 11:41:13

OINX
Member
From: Germany
Joined: 2015-08-07
Posts: 151

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

you could write it as 175% in the description. Sounds good and is at least almost perfectly true.

The reason why it bothers me so much is, because I "lost" once a level due to new physics a few years ago. That level was not playable anymore, since certain distances were build right next to each other and nothing could be rebuild. Even the speed arrows worked differently. The old members remember that day.
The second thing that ruined a "great world (size)" was the unintended feature, which let you touch a hazard, slide while having the death scene and still collect coins or touch a resurrection point. That great world used this feature a lot and had many never seen ideas put into action. I always go only for gameplay, that amazes even myself... and two whole times I "lost" a world due to changes.


(  ° ,(oo)° ) oink oink

Offline

Wooted by:

#8 2015-08-14 13:21:23

Kirby
Member
Joined: 2015-04-04
Posts: 4,304

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

Or you could change it to

"Jump almost twice as high!"

Offline

#9 2015-08-14 15:32:48

mrjawapa
Corn Man 🌽
From: Ohio, USA
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 5,840
Website

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

OINX wrote:

The reason why it bothers me so much is, because I "lost" once a level due to new physics a few years ago.

Sorry to hear that, but that was a few years ago.  And I'm not sure how an inaccurate description can cause you to have a broken world.  You're asking us to change the jump height, which would break everyone else's world?  Uh?

OINX wrote:

and two whole times I "lost" a world due to changes.

Well no worries, we're not going to change the physics.


Discord: jawp#5123

Offline

#10 2015-08-14 19:58:03

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

Kirby wrote:

Or you could change it to

"Jump almost twice as high!"

Jump with 30% more starting power!
Getting somewhere.

Offline

#11 2015-08-15 00:09:52

OINX
Member
From: Germany
Joined: 2015-08-07
Posts: 151

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

If there won't be a change, then I see no further problem. I rather have the power up working with 175% than suddenly with 200% in the future.


(  ° ,(oo)° ) oink oink

Offline

#12 2015-08-15 04:48:23

mrjawapa
Corn Man 🌽
From: Ohio, USA
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 5,840
Website

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

OINX wrote:

If there won't be a change, then I see no further problem. I rather have the power up working with 175% than suddenly with 200% in the future.

There wasn't a problem to begin with...


Discord: jawp#5123

Offline

#13 2015-08-15 18:14:05

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

JaWapa wrote:
OINX wrote:

If there won't be a change, then I see no further problem. I rather have the power up working with 175% than suddenly with 200% in the future.

There wasn't a problem to begin with...

JaWapa wrote:

New description:
"Players jump 1.7438 times higher."

Pardon?

Offline

#14 2015-08-15 21:14:41

OINX
Member
From: Germany
Joined: 2015-08-07
Posts: 151

Re: power up works incorrect, why?

For me there were 3 possible scenarios:
- since it says "twice as high" it might be changed to really work like this, because now it is less than twice.
- the description will be changed
- nothing will be chnaged

So I wanted to make sure the first one would not happen.


(  ° ,(oo)° ) oink oink

Offline

OINX1439669681530786

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1714124548.4249 - Generated in 0.051 seconds, 13 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.55 MiB (Peak: 1.73 MiB) ]