Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-08 16:28:48

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 1,025

Bot on a server

Obviously a bot can be written in only certain languages (unless you rewrite Player.IO's lib into a different language), javascript is not one of them, making it impossible to run a bot 24/7 on a server.

On first sight.


Obviously you can't put a C# program on any server and let it run.
However, there is this thing... Called ASP.NET.

I was wondering if anybody has experience in ASP.NET and could perhaps try and help me to transform a regular C# program into an ASP.NET (in which you can work in C#) web applet. The server is no problem, I got that.

Offline

#2 2015-10-08 17:17:45

lrussell
Member
From: Saturn's Titan
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 843
Website

Re: Bot on a server

You write a bot using standard C# and run it on a VPS or something using Mono.

Offline

Wooted by: (5)

#3 2015-10-08 18:30:49

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 1,025

Re: Bot on a server

That's exactly the point, sorry I wasn't specific enough in my main post.

I have a FTP server, not a VPN (from school).
Now I know that with ASP.NET you can make web applications, I was kinda wondering if anybody here would know any way to easily translate an already made C# program into an ASP.NET web application.


Using this method there would be many perks, like players being able to communicate with the bot through the interface on the website.

Offline

#4 2015-10-08 19:56:43

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 1,025

Re: Bot on a server

It appears you can literally toss your C# code in an ASP.NET project, the only problem would be to convert the winforms into a web interface.

I haven't yet tested it if it's possible on any ftp or if you need special libraries server-side, will post an update when I tried it out.

Offline

#5 2015-10-08 21:23:38, last edited by Koya (2015-10-08 21:33:22)

Koya
Fabulous Member
From: The island with those Brits
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 6,310

Re: Bot on a server

Extract the classes from your form and move it to a command line, sort out the errors (variable types and form elements), don't make it into a website.

Get a VPN (I have used hostinger (google it and click on your regional site) and currently use contabo), get an FTP client (uploading files), get an SSH client (controlling your server), install mono, then find where you put your .exe and enter in 'mono mazeThingOrWhateverItItCalled.exe' and it will run; if you were to close the session the program will close so say 'nohup mono mazeThingOrWhateverItItCalled.exe' - this will mean nothing will be output onto the command line but you can close the session and it will continue to run.

Need any help with server management I will gladly help and I assume lrussell will too.


If you are clueless about which OS to go for: Ubuntu is great and is usually the default and if you require help I know there's a lot of Ubuntu specific help.

Ubuntu: sudo apt-get install mono-complete

Po9cnQh.png

PLNQVL8.png
Thank you eleizibeth ^

1SYOldu.png

I stack my signatures rather than delete them so I don't lose them
giphy.gif

WfSi4mm.png

Offline

#6 2015-10-08 22:35:30

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: Bot on a server

While you're at it, someone should make a server for hosting others' bots.
y'know, for those who are too lazy to actually do that whole hosting thing
ya

Offline

Wooted by:

#7 2015-10-08 23:41:50

Koya
Fabulous Member
From: The island with those Brits
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 6,310

Re: Bot on a server

hummerz5 wrote:

While you're at it, someone should make a server for hosting others' bots.
y'know, for those who are too lazy to actually do that whole hosting thing
ya

It's not that much effort and you get a server that you can do anything with, when my test server isn't in use I make it try to run Ackermann(4,3) #nerdgasm


Po9cnQh.png

PLNQVL8.png
Thank you eleizibeth ^

1SYOldu.png

I stack my signatures rather than delete them so I don't lose them
giphy.gif

WfSi4mm.png

Offline

#8 2015-10-09 00:58:40

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: Bot on a server

I don't get it

Offline

#9 2015-10-09 01:39:09

lrussell
Member
From: Saturn's Titan
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 843
Website

Re: Bot on a server

hummerz5 wrote:

While you're at it, someone should make a server for hosting others' bots.
y'know, for those who are too lazy to actually do that whole hosting thing
ya

I do have the resources available to do this for at least a few people. I might do this later.

Offline

#10 2015-10-09 14:27:33

Koya
Fabulous Member
From: The island with those Brits
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 6,310

Re: Bot on a server

hummerz5 wrote:

I don't get it

Then it probably isn't best for you to do this right now.


Po9cnQh.png

PLNQVL8.png
Thank you eleizibeth ^

1SYOldu.png

I stack my signatures rather than delete them so I don't lose them
giphy.gif

WfSi4mm.png

Offline

#11 2015-10-09 15:20:02

den3107
Member
From: Netherlands
Joined: 2015-04-24
Posts: 1,025

Re: Bot on a server

I do know how an FTP server works, haven't worked with a VPN yet though and the main problem is that obviously I'd prefer to keep it free, mostly for now since I'm not sure how much I'm wanting to do with it.

Offline

#12 2015-10-09 15:29:00

lrussell
Member
From: Saturn's Titan
Joined: 2015-02-15
Posts: 843
Website

Re: Bot on a server

den3107 wrote:

I do know how an FTP server works, haven't worked with a VPN yet though and the main problem is that obviously I'd prefer to keep it free, mostly for now since I'm not sure how much I'm wanting to do with it.

A VPN and a VPS are two different things. FTP has nothing to do with it either.

Offline

#13 2015-10-09 15:29:17

Koya
Fabulous Member
From: The island with those Brits
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 6,310

Re: Bot on a server

den3107 wrote:

I do know how an FTP server works, haven't worked with a VPN yet though and the main problem is that obviously I'd prefer to keep it free, mostly for now since I'm not sure how much I'm wanting to do with it.

I don't think you can find one for less than just £5 which is virtually free


Po9cnQh.png

PLNQVL8.png
Thank you eleizibeth ^

1SYOldu.png

I stack my signatures rather than delete them so I don't lose them
giphy.gif

WfSi4mm.png

Offline

#14 2015-10-09 21:19:34

hummerz5
Member
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 5,852

Re: Bot on a server

Koya wrote:
hummerz5 wrote:

I don't get it

Then it probably isn't best for you to do this right now.

I'm insulted

Either you realize I was referring to your nerdgasm and you think that unrelated references determine my ability to understand this material,

or you did not understand what I was referring to and didn't really give me the time of day by either explaining the method or reading my message.

so either you're wrong or ignoring me.

or there's some other case I'm too lazy to write out.

Offline

hummerz51444421974548019

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1714733556.6043 - Generated in 0.152 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.58 MiB (Peak: 1.77 MiB) ]