Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

Advertisement

Hello, visitor! These forums are run off of the revenue generated from these ads. If you'd like to support us, please whitelist us or consider donating:

#1 2017-03-13 01:43:00

Slabdrill
Formerly 12345678908642
From: canada
Joined: 2015-08-15
Posts: 1,540
Website

get position without moving

if there's a request for your position (bots, maybe a command) your position on server updates to position on client.

...it has uses.


kL6IDgb.png
made by anatoly

Offline

#2 2017-03-13 02:50:46

hummerz5
Forum Mod
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Joined: 2015-08-10
Posts: 4,265

Re: get position without moving

arguably more efficient to be able to replicate what the client does with movement information

not as easy

but someone would inevitably make a program to constantly ride the server


fT09tOL.png
?type=lastlogin&name=hummerz5
*cough* forum data

Offline

#3 2017-04-04 22:44:05

Koya
Fabulous EE Admin
From: That game
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 6,583

Re: get position without moving

hummerz5 wrote:

arguably more efficient to be able to replicate what the client does with movement information

not as easy

but someone would inevitably make a program to constantly ride the server

Captain9 has already done it https://github.com/cap9/EEPhysics (Jesse updates it)

Last edited by Koya (2017-04-05 15:25:02)


giphy.gif

WfSi4mm.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#4 2017-04-04 23:47:38

Tomahawk
Member
From: England
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 889

Re: get position without moving

EEPhysics is a tad overkill, and due to latency issues it's a little behind in locating a moving player. Also it's not 100% accurate with portals.

hummerz5 wrote:

but someone would inevitably make a program to constantly ride the server

Eh, they just removed the message limit. Idk if spamming this position update would be more intensive than processing huge amounts of block data, but it doesn't seem like they're too worried.


One bot to rule them all, one bot to find them. One bot to bring them all... and with this cliché blind them.

Offline

#5 2017-04-05 11:00:29

destroyer123
Member
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 584

Re: get position without moving

I agree that this would be really good, but I'm not sure there would be an easy way to add it server-side, as I don't think that the server currently keeps track of your position

Offline

#6 2017-04-05 12:11:58

Tomahawk
Member
From: England
Joined: 2015-02-18
Posts: 889

Re: get position without moving

I suppose a command could be written that pulled a player's position directly from his client.


One bot to rule them all, one bot to find them. One bot to bring them all... and with this cliché blind them.

Offline

#7 2017-04-05 12:41:58

destroyer123
Member
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 584

Re: get position without moving

Tomahawk wrote:

I suppose a command could be written that pulled a player's position directly from his client.

Then you wouldn't be able to use it for bots though (the main use as far as I can tell)

Offline

#8 2017-04-05 15:33:18

Jesse
EE Admin
From: Antartica
Joined: 2015-02-16
Posts: 68
Website

Re: get position without moving

Tomahawk wrote:

EEPhysics is a tad overkill.
Also it's not 100% accurate with portals.
I suppose a command could be written that pulled a player's position directly from his client.

Sadly there is no other way of getting the exact location of a player without simulating physics.

The reason portals aren't 100% accurate is because the client decides which portal you should go to, not the server.

The command '/getpos username' does grab their exact position, however this is clientsided, not serversided. We won't make this command serversided because that means we would need to simulate physics in the server which isn't smart at all.


Hi! Sig.php

Offline

Wooted by:

#9 2017-04-05 17:35:56

Swarth100
Formerly: Spinastar
Joined: 2015-07-18
Posts: 292

Re: get position without moving

Jesse wrote:

Sadly there is no other way of getting the exact location of a player without simulating physics.

The reason portals aren't 100% accurate is because the client decides which portal you should go to, not the server.

The command '/getpos username' does grab their exact position, however this is clientsided, not serversided. We won't make this command serversided because that means we would need to simulate physics in the server which isn't smart at all.

Does the anti-cheat tool in use for campaigns, not take into consideration player positions/EE physics?

Edit: typos

Last edited by Swarth100 (2017-04-05 17:36:18)


fsR7puc.png

Offline

#10 2017-04-05 18:43:58

destroyer123
Member
From: England
Joined: 2016-06-03
Posts: 584

Re: get position without moving

Swarth100: I've never tested it myself, but I think the campaign system is very simple, but hard-coded in for each campaign world to check for the most likely things hackers will do

Offline

destroyer1231491414238653314

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1495648123.5432 - Generated in 0.064 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.16 MiB (Peak: 1.29 MiB) ]