Official Everybody Edits Forums

Do you think I could just leave this part blank and it'd be okay? We're just going to replace the whole thing with a header image anyway, right?

You are not logged in.

Advertisement

Hello, visitor! These forums are run off of the revenue generated from these ads. If you'd like to support us, please whitelist us or consider donating:

#1 2016-12-14 11:10:41

Gosha
Banned
From: GLORY TO ARSTOTZKA
Registered: 2015-03-15
Posts: 3,518

is it possible to make transparent background block

which won`t conflict with bgcolour


100--500--1000--1500--2000--2500--3000--3500--4000--4500--5000--9000--9001-10000
KnbqMw5.png

Wooted by: Yourmom

Offline

#2 2016-12-14 17:47:04

Tomahawk
Member
From: England
Registered: 2015-02-18
Posts: 602

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

This is useful.


One bot to rule them all, one bot to find them. One bot to bring them all... and with this cliché blind them.

Offline

Wooted by:

HG

#3 2016-12-14 18:10:39

Gosha
Banned
From: GLORY TO ARSTOTZKA
Registered: 2015-03-15
Posts: 3,518

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

I just want to fix Halloween's background

dCMPWkO.png


100--500--1000--1500--2000--2500--3000--3500--4000--4500--5000--9000--9001-10000
KnbqMw5.png

Wooted by: Yourmom

Offline

#4 2016-12-14 19:38:25

Era
Member
From: :::::1
Registered: 2015-05-06
Posts: 770

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

No, atleast not in the current version, you could suggest this (based on blocks i saw beeing placed in the bg layer... which created failed render areas.)


~FreeBSD user
~Debian user

Offline

#5 2016-12-14 20:13:07

Zumza
Member
From: localhost/
Registered: 2015-02-17
Posts: 3,502

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

its_not_a_bug_its_a_feature_by_forester_joe.jpg


5be5bfb7a2.gif
Accordion to scientific studies, 90% of people do not realize I replaced the beginning of sentence with an instrument.

Offline

#6 2016-12-14 20:21:52

HG
Member
From: PWA0gEDooycEI
Registered: 2015-02-18
Posts: 1,039
Website

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

Is it a feature that backgrounds can't be transparent? What happened on EE2 when you placed a block as BG? The transparent part showed like an out-of-bounds (no-clip) effect. Do you call that a feature?


Check out The Tower Remastered, the best limited-time challenge world by HG Crew, NOW WITH A GAME-PLAY VIDEO!

Offline

#7 2016-12-14 21:05:32

hummerz5
Forum Mod
From: wait I'm not a secret mod huh
Registered: 2015-08-10
Posts: 3,845

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

Do you mean "transparent" as the default bg that the entire world is filled with?

I'd imagine so. Strictly speaking, you could just make a new brick package, with just that one sprite. I imagine there'd be a better approach, but it's doable.


fT09tOL.png
rip the creator of this sig, zoey

Offline

#8 2016-12-15 15:36:53

AnatolyEE
Member
From: Nub land
Registered: 2015-07-31
Posts: 2,272
Website

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block


vtUxQtZ.png

Offline

Wooted by:

#9 2016-12-15 16:29:34

Zumza
Member
From: localhost/
Registered: 2015-02-17
Posts: 3,502

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

HG wrote:

Is it a feature that backgrounds can't be transparent? What happened on EE2 when you placed a block as BG? The transparent part showed like an out-of-bounds (no-clip) effect. Do you call that a feature?

The rendering system wasn't made with the idea of transparent background in mind. It would had to render 1 more layer each time to make that possible. So at the time background was introduced, making them full colour(without transparent parts) was seen as an optimisation.


5be5bfb7a2.gif
Accordion to scientific studies, 90% of people do not realize I replaced the beginning of sentence with an instrument.

Offline

#10 2016-12-15 17:06:48

Tomahawk
Member
From: England
Registered: 2015-02-18
Posts: 602

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

I think the point is to be able to easily erase BG that is underneath foreground blocks.


One bot to rule them all, one bot to find them. One bot to bring them all... and with this cliché blind them.

Offline

#11 2016-12-16 13:23:01

Whirl
Formerly Rudik
From: Adventure
Registered: 2015-02-18
Posts: 1,858
Website

Re: is it possible to make transparent background block

jontron xddd

Ontopic: For the most I think this is useful, which will conflict with bg too.

Last edited by Whirl (2016-12-16 13:23:26)


rudik5k.gif
PiBPidI.png

Online

Whirl1481890981639536

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

[ Started around 1485197454.0305 - Generated in 0.072 seconds, 12 queries executed - Memory usage: 1.13 MiB (Peak: 1.29 MiB) ]